Gluten Free Cookie Dough Truffles

11 Feb

TRUFFLE_FINAL

My husband is really into health and nutrition and recently purchased the 50 Wholesome Gluten-Free Dessert Recipes e-book for me. Typically on Sunday’s we like to indulge in some type of healthier dessert and this e-book has been a great resource.

Yesterday I made the Cookie Dough Truffles. The recipe is super easy to follow and the end result was amazing and so yummy. This is a no bake recipe; you basically combine the dry and wet ingredients, place the dough in the fridge for a couple of hours, rolls the dough into balls and dip into chocolate. In addition to being easy to make, the recipe contains all wholesome ingredients. I used all organic ingredients.

The only somewhat challenging part was the dipping of the truffles. I should have done some research online on how to do this before my attempt but, I ended up using two toothpicks. I inserted the toothpicks into the centre of the truffle, dipped it into the chocolate and then placed the truffle onto wax paper. The toothpicks will leave a little mark but you can just dab some chocolate on there or place a chocolate chip on top. My other tip is that if you leave the dough in the fridge for more than 2 hours, which I did, it will get really hard and you will have to thaw it out before you can roll it into balls.

 Ingredients:

½ cup almond flour
¼ cup coconut flour
Dash of sea salt
1/3 cup sugar – I used ¼ teaspoon Stevia powder (you can also use whatever alternative you have to sugar)
5 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
2 tablespoons virgin coconut oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
¼ cup mini chocolate chips, plus more for topping
1 cup dark chocolate chips

In a bowl, stir almond flour, coconut flour, salt and sugar together. In a separate bowl combine the butter, coconut oil and vanilla extract. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix well. Stir in mini chocolate chips and refrigerate dough for 2 hours.

Roll dough into balls and stick in the refrigerator while you melt the dark chocolate. In a saucepan melt the chocolate chips over the lowest heat, stirring constantly. Remove from heat. Dip balls into chocolate to coat, and place on wax paper. Sprinkle the tops with mini chocolate chips and place in the refrigerator or on the counter to cool. Serve when hardened!

My family and I really enjoyed the truffles and I will definitely make them again! I hope that you try the recipe and please let me know how it turns out and what method you used to dip the truffles!

Enjoy

Irena
xo

7 Responses to “Gluten Free Cookie Dough Truffles”

  1. Nahren Shamoka February 13, 2013 at 2:28 PM #

    Did you find them rich? I would like to make these!

    • tunjicirena February 13, 2013 at 2:34 PM #

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Nahren Shamoka February 13, 2013 at 2:37 PM #

        Lol all it says is sent from my iPhone 😉

      • tunjicirena February 13, 2013 at 2:41 PM #

        LOL! Sorry! They taste really good.. Rich but not overly rich! My husband loved them.. I did too! If u make them let me know what u think! 😉

        Sent from my iPhone

      • Nahren Shamoka February 13, 2013 at 2:42 PM #

        Sounds bloody awesome! I think I will try this weekend lol :D!!! Thanks for sharing :)!

  2. Bonnie Chao February 25, 2013 at 7:04 PM #

    I am going to save all these gluten-free recipes and bake everyday in the summer haha

Leave a Reply

verawnika

Nutrition,Raw Food,Healthy Living...

LifeOfKSong

A love triangle between Beauty & Fashion

The Evolution of Eloquence

Improving the English language one letter at a time

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

TechTalk X

TechTalk X is a series of interviews with the Tech and Creative Startups that are building growth in Ontario.

Canadian88.ca

Food | Drink | Travel | Cars | Lifestyle | Finance | Tech

The Dark Geek Rises

Talking Comics with the Nerdiest of Geeks

PonderPuss

Think about it...

saysshelly

Sassy. Sage. Sometimes Sarcastic. Never Dull.

A man and his racquet

Opinions on pro tennis to recreational tennis and everything in between

BIG BROTHER CANADA

A reality favourite close to home! All you need to know about what's going on in the Big Brother Canada House!

SWEAT, SOUL & SEQUINS

A synchronized swimmer’s adventures in fitness outside of the pool.

My Year In Gear

Adventures in 2013

Blue is the Colour - Chelsea FC

News and Updates on Chelsea FC

Nosh with Naho

Nosh -- Definition: Noun: Food, Verb: Eat food enthusiastically or greedily

Wanderfood

The hunt for delicious food with a dash of adventure along the way.

LU's News & Views

"List with LU...or call to VIEW!"

markinthehammer

Markin' my observations about the corner of the world at the head of the lake

two tickets to paradise

Follow me on my travel adventures

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

