Drink your Greens

21 Jan

greendrink1

In my mission to eat more raw vegetables, I have started to make green smoothies for breakfast! I have made them on and off over the years but, since the New Year I make one almost every morning. They are super easy to make, nutritious, and best of all, taste so good! There are different variations of smoothies that I make but, my ultimate favourite is as follows:

• 1½ cups frozen fruit (I use mango and peaches – you can virtually use anything)
• ½ cup of ice
• 3 cups of spinach
• 2 kale leaves (taken off the spine)
• 1 scoop of protein powder (I use New Zealand Whey as it’s made from dairy that is hormone and antibiotic free)
• 1 to 1½ cups of liquid (this can be water or any type of almond or coconut milk)

Throw all of the ingredients into a blender and mix for a minute and a half. This will make 2 servings and it’s pretty thick! You can add more liquid depending on how you like your smoothie!

As we all have busy schedules this is a great way to start your day and get your greens in! Greens are so important in overall health and well-being! Spinach is very high in minerals and other phytonutrients. It is also an excellent source of vitamin K, vitamin A, magnesium, folate, manganese, iron, calcium, vitamin C, vitamin B2, potassium, and vitamin B6. Kale is high in iron, vitamin K, vitamin A, and vitamin C. My favourite benefit of kale is that it is higher in calcium than milk (per calorie)! This is great for me as I do not drink milk!

As I have mentioned before, I have a daughter that is going to be 2 in a few months, and getting vegetables into her can be challenging at times! She loves the green smoothies I make and it makes me feel good that she is getting lots of vitamins and nutrients!

Below is a video of the owners of Kindfood and Kelly’s Bake Shoppe making a superfood smoothie – another yummy recipe!

Enjoy!
Irena
xo

7 Responses to “Drink your Greens”

  1. parveermann January 21, 2013 at 6:39 PM #

    I think this is a great idea for children or picky eaters who don’t get the essentials through other means. I’ve seen my nephew who has certain food allergies and is usually a hard person to please, be gravitated to some of the fruit/vegetable smoothies I’ve made. I look forward to testing out this recipe eventually.

    • tunjicirena January 21, 2013 at 7:23 PM #

      My daughter loves them! Let me know how the recipe turns out if you eventually try it! 🙂

  2. hellatrish January 22, 2013 at 9:17 PM #

    I think I’m gonna try this one out. I usually have fruit smoothies, because I assume that they taste better. But I guess a smoothie without a whole lot of sugar would be a better option from time to time.
    The nutrition facts are helpful too.

    • tunjicirena January 22, 2013 at 11:00 PM #

      This is good beginner smoothie as it tastes great… maybe leave the kale out the first time you do it and then experiment with kale or chard after! Kale will change the taste a little.. if you want to ease into it, leave the kale out at first! Let me know how it goes! 🙂

  3. charlottepeer January 23, 2013 at 4:19 PM #

    Mmmm! I LOVE making smoothies! One of my faves is lettuce, kale, banana, almond milk and vanilla protein powder. I think it’s really refreshing. I’m looking forward to trying your recipe too!

    • tunjicirena January 26, 2013 at 10:37 AM #

      Your smoothie sounds yummy too! I have never tried lettuce – what kind do you use? Want to try with lettuce!

  4. Nahren Shamoka January 28, 2013 at 12:38 AM #

    Love Spinach in my smoothies. Yours sounds great :)! I haven’t tried out protein powders though, I have been meaning to look into that. Are they gluten free?

Leave a Reply

verawnika

Nutrition,Raw Food,Healthy Living...

LifeOfKSong

A love triangle between Beauty & Fashion

The Evolution of Eloquence

Improving the English language one letter at a time

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

TechTalk X

TechTalk X is a series of interviews with the Tech and Creative Startups that are building growth in Ontario.

Canadian88.ca

Food | Drink | Travel | Cars | Lifestyle | Finance | Tech

The Dark Geek Rises

Talking Comics with the Nerdiest of Geeks

PonderPuss

Think about it...

saysshelly

Sassy. Sage. Sometimes Sarcastic. Never Dull.

A man and his racquet

Opinions on pro tennis to recreational tennis and everything in between

BIG BROTHER CANADA

A reality favourite close to home! All you need to know about what's going on in the Big Brother Canada House!

SWEAT, SOUL & SEQUINS

A synchronized swimmer’s adventures in fitness outside of the pool.

My Year In Gear

Adventures in 2013

Blue is the Colour - Chelsea FC

News and Updates on Chelsea FC

Nosh with Naho

Nosh -- Definition: Noun: Food, Verb: Eat food enthusiastically or greedily

Wanderfood

The hunt for delicious food with a dash of adventure along the way.

LU's News & Views

"List with LU...or call to VIEW!"

markinthehammer

Markin' my observations about the corner of the world at the head of the lake

two tickets to paradise

Follow me on my travel adventures

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

