Building Social Media Relationships

14 Jan

a4affe9472a2b6ba6d0657f57dc19a4a 

Why I am taking this course

I am a student of the McMaster University Centre for Continuing Education Marketing Program and I am taking this as an elective course. I decided to take this course as it seems that everyone is using some form of social media these days! I myself use Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube pretty often in my personal life! I have used Facebook and Twitter professionally on a very basic level. With a previous employer we started both sites but, not enough content was being posted and both platforms seemed to fade away. This experience made me want to learn more about the subject and it’s what attracted me to this course! I am curious about how companies effectively use social media to connect with consumers.

I also want to know and understand the most effective and strategic ways to use all of the available platforms. This is probably not a realistic expectation as there are probably way more platforms than I know of… and I am sure more are introduced on a regular basis! As more and more companies are using social media to communicate with consumers I really want to sharpen my skills in this area and stay up to date on the latest information. Throughout the course I would love to explore the most popular social media platforms and also learn the do’s and don’ts!

What I would love to know by the end of the semester:
• How to generate enough interesting content to keep audience engaged and interested
• How to chose the most appropriate social media platform
• The do’s and don’ts of social media use

Overall, I hope to expand my knowledge on the subject and walk away with some solid tools which I can incorporate into my professional life!

Looking forward to a great semester!

5 Responses to “Building Social Media Relationships”

  1. Nahren Shamoka January 21, 2013 at 3:19 PM #

    Do’s and dont’s sounds like a great question to answer. Looking forward to seeing what the term has to offer. It is going to be a great semester, no doubt about it :D!

  2. hellatrish January 22, 2013 at 9:14 PM #

    Your goals for the course are pretty realistic. I think I’m gonna steal them 🙂
    I too would like to develop my skills in social media. It will indeed offer a great advantage in the workplace.

    • tunjicirena January 22, 2013 at 10:58 PM #

      Thanks Trish! I’ve already learned some great stuff! Looking forward to the entire semester!

  3. Chris January 28, 2013 at 1:42 AM #

    Great graphic for this post!! You had my interest at cashews…but your topic sounds great!! Can’t wait to see what you find to write about!!

    • tunjicirena February 4, 2013 at 6:27 PM #

      Ha!Ha! Why cashews?? LOL!

Leave a Reply

verawnika

Nutrition,Raw Food,Healthy Living...

LifeOfKSong

A love triangle between Beauty & Fashion

The Evolution of Eloquence

Improving the English language one letter at a time

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

TechTalk X

TechTalk X is a series of interviews with the Tech and Creative Startups that are building growth in Ontario.

Canadian88.ca

Food | Drink | Travel | Cars | Lifestyle | Finance | Tech

The Dark Geek Rises

Talking Comics with the Nerdiest of Geeks

PonderPuss

Think about it...

saysshelly

Sassy. Sage. Sometimes Sarcastic. Never Dull.

A man and his racquet

Opinions on pro tennis to recreational tennis and everything in between

BIG BROTHER CANADA

A reality favourite close to home! All you need to know about what's going on in the Big Brother Canada House!

SWEAT, SOUL & SEQUINS

A synchronized swimmer’s adventures in fitness outside of the pool.

My Year In Gear

Adventures in 2013

Blue is the Colour - Chelsea FC

News and Updates on Chelsea FC

Nosh with Naho

Nosh -- Definition: Noun: Food, Verb: Eat food enthusiastically or greedily

Wanderfood

The hunt for delicious food with a dash of adventure along the way.

LU's News & Views

"List with LU...or call to VIEW!"

markinthehammer

Markin' my observations about the corner of the world at the head of the lake

two tickets to paradise

Follow me on my travel adventures

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

