Heavenly Carrot Cake, Gluten Free

11 Feb

carrot cake final

I was on a bit of a baking frenzy yesterday and also made a gluten free carrot cake, with cream cheese frosting, from the 50 Wholesome Gluten-Free Dessert Recipes book. So all I have to say is OMG! It tastes so good, has so much flavour and the cream cheese frosting is to die for! Not only does this cake taste amazing, it looks stunning, if I do say so myself! I sent pictures of the cake to all of my friends and now everyone thinks I am a culinary goddess! Umm… which I totally was way before I ever made this cake!

This cake tastes delicious for something that is gluten free and pretty much all organic. The only two ingredients that were not organic were the baking soda and baking powder. The cake is very easy to make; you literally just mix all of the ingredients together and bake it! It does contain a lot of ingredients which prevented me from making it before but, let me tell you when you sink your teeth into this masterpiece you will not be disappointed! And on top of it, it’s full of wholesome and good quality ingredients, and there is nothing to feel guilty about after eating it!

Ingredients:

1 cup almond flour
½ cup coconut flour
¼ cup arrowroot flour
¼ cup brown rice flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoon cinnamon
½ cup brown sugar (I used a coconut version)
½ cup unsweetened apple sauce
2 cups carrots, shredded
3 eggs, beaten
1 cup coconut oil
1 cup shredded coconut
1 cup chopped pecans, plus more for topping
1 cup crushed pineapple, un-drained
½ cup unsalted butter, softened
½ cup cream cheese, softened
1 cup powdered sugar
2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease a 9” spring foam pan with butter. Whisk together the flours, baking soda, baking powder and cinnamon. Add the brown sugar, applesauce, carrots, eggs, coconut oil, coconut, 1 cup chopped pecans, and pineapple. Mix until well combined. Pour batter into the pan and bake for 30-35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the centre comes out clean. Let cool completely.

Meanwhile make the frosting by beating together butter and cream cheese in a bowl with an electric mixer. With the mixer on low speed, add the powdered sugar and mix until smooth. Beat in vanilla. Frost the cake and add pecans around the edges and in the center.

TIP – Ensure the cake is completely cooled before you start frosting. If you do not wait, you will find the frosting will start to melt and slide off the sides. I also placed my frosting in the refrigerator for a little while before frosting as I find it easier to work with.

I hope you try this recipe. This is by far my favourite recipe that I have ever made. It’s delicious, healthy and looks good! Let me know if you make it and what you think!

Enjoy!
Irena
xo

3 Responses to “Heavenly Carrot Cake, Gluten Free”

  1. shellyeaston February 11, 2013 at 6:33 PM #

    I love carrot cake so I don’t want to mess with success, but this sounds marvellous. Thanks for sharing!

  2. cadoucette February 11, 2013 at 7:30 PM #

    YUM! I absolutely LOVE carrot cake. It’s great that it is gluten free as we:)

  3. Nahren Shamoka February 13, 2013 at 2:31 PM #

    Fabulous! I’ll be saving all these recipes :)!

Leave a Reply

verawnika

Nutrition,Raw Food,Healthy Living...

LifeOfKSong

a little bit of this & a whole lotta that

The Evolution of Eloquence

Improving the English language one letter at a time

The top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

The top 10 of just about anything everything, from cakes to cats and dogs to caravans. Always a laugh, always worth seeing.

TechTalk X

TechTalk X is a series of interviews with the Tech and Creative Startups that are building growth in Ontario.

Canadian88.ca

Food | Drink | Travel | Cars | Lifestyle | Finance | Tech

The Dark Geek Rises

Talking Comics with the Nerdiest of Geeks

PonderPuss

Think about it...

saysshelly

Sassy. Sage. Sometimes Sarcastic. Never Dull.

A man and his racquet

Opinions on pro tennis to recreational tennis and everything in between

BIG BROTHER CANADA

A reality favourite close to home! All you need to know about what's going on in the Big Brother Canada House!

Sweat, Soul & Sequins

A synchronized swimmer’s adventures in fitness outside of the pool

My Year In Gear

Adventures in 2013

Blue is the Colour - Chelsea FC

News and Updates on Chelsea FC

Nosh with Naho

Nosh -- Definition: Noun: Food, Verb: Eat food enthusiastically or greedily

Wanderfood

The hunt for delicious food with a dash of adventure along the way.

LU's News & Views

"List with LU...or call to VIEW!"

markinthehammer

Markin' my observations about the corner of the world at the head of the lake

two tickets to paradise

Follow me on my travel adventures

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

